As of July 14, 2008 6:30:22 PM, according to DOST-PAGASA:

At 2:00 p.m. today, Tropical Storm “HELEN” (right) was estimated based on satellite and surface data at 330 kms east southeast of Basco, Batanes (19.4ºN 125.2ºE) with maximum sustained winds of 65 kph near the center with gustiness of up to 80 kph. Forecast to move west slowly.

Slowwwlyyy…

Yeah, that seemed like it. This day happened like in slow motion…with ceaseless rain and turtle-paced traffic. And like in an ultimate true slow motion scene, I stepped out of the jeepney, when suddenly this happened to me:

I screamed “Nnnnooooooo!!!” as I looked down at my right sandal (left photo; technically it isn’t mine–I borrowed it from Sis–Lagot ako!)

I still had to walk a couple of blocks towards my practicum site (a SPED preschool) in the rain with a broken, worthless piece of sandal. Oh, what, oh, what should a girl do?

I was ready to hop all the way (and to swallow my sense of dignity) when, thankfully, a pedicab came along and I immediately got on. Sheepishly, I showed the driver my broken sandal, pouting like a little girl, hoping he’ll grant me a discounted fare since “Manong, dyaan lang naman ako sa may kanto (it’s just around the corner).”

Did it work? Of course not, mahirap na ang pera ngayon. Anyway, I got to my practicum site and apologized to them for being late (bad, seralu, bad!). Being an Asian school, it allowed us teachers and the kids to walk barefoot on the carpet of the classrooms. At lunch though, I had to ask the school owner (who is a real nice lady) if I could borrow some flip-flops so that I could go and buy a new pair in the nearest mall (sige-kapalan na ang mukha).

Good thing, in the Philippines, everywhere you look, there is a stall or booth somewhere selling an abundant array of sandals and flip-flops.

So it is considered a no problemo if one day you have a footwear malfunction on a street–just laugh, pick the pair up, throw them in the nearest trash bin, and get yourself a new one. And they are all inexpensive. But then, that’s the catch. Being so inexpensive, a pair of flip-flops or sandals that is less than 200 pesos or 4 dollars can have an expiration date of two to three months, depending on how often you use them. Being nice to look at but of low-quality, they either soon lose their once-vibrant colors and shimmer or just break apart in no time.

And pretty soon, you’ll have a graveyard pile of pathetic-looking sandals and flip-flops in your shoe closet…

Rest in Pieces. Uugh! They had short lives, I know, but they served me well up to the bitter, bitter end…

Anyway, back to the shoe stalls…

When picking the right pair, I had to check the bottom. I choose only the ones with rubber soles on the bottom because a lot of these cheap footwear do not have rubber soles on them. Although really nice to look at, these frictionless bastards can be quite dangerous when you’re using them on slippery grounds, especially during rainy days like today.

There were so many to choose from…Oh, which, oh, which should a girl choose?

Finally, after trying on five pairs, I got me these black sandals that cost only 150 pesos. And yes, the rubber soles were intact.

And to perk up this slow, soggy day, I bought one of the Pinaka-Patok na Pinoy Merienda (highly-recommended afternoon snack) according to a TV show here (left photo).

Get me a fork, please! I rushed home in my new sandals and treated myself with green tea and peachy-peachy topped with melted cheese. Perfect merienda for a rainy day. I guess, the cheese is the one that seals the deal. It doesn’t taste like any of the ones you buy from the grocery…I wonder where they get it? Hmm…

I clean up my closet, throwing away the old shoes to make way for the new. I relax, sip my tea and contemplate about going back and buying the pair of sandals with black shiny sequins next or the one with the golden tassels or the one with…

So goes another rainy Monday…

