I haven’t started writing yet…but I’m already hungry just thinking about this post. But first, what did I learn during my eat-outs in Indonesia? I learned that it should be a requirement for any Filipino who wants to be a chef or venture into the restaurant business to really try and explore other foods from our Asian brothers.  It’s just a thought but we can really learn a lot from them.  OK.  Here they are:

Our first meal in Indonesia, prepared by Ly, one of our gracious hostesses.  Chicken nuggets (its brand name is so funny that it deserves another post) with colorless hotdogs.  Simple lang pero masarap kasi gawa mo, Ly! Naks.

:mrgreen:    :mrgreen:    :mrgreen:    :mrgreen:    :mrgreen:

Bubur ayam: The only Indonesian streetfood that i dared to eat because Ly said i should.  And thank God I did… It is chicken porridge with lots of trimmings.  The pink stuff are krupuk (kropek for us).  They put krupuk in a lot of their dishes.

Bubur ayam 2: This is the sosyal (high-end) version.  I get to mix my own from the buffet restaurant at Hotel Panorama Lembang. I dunno. The streetfood version somehow tasted better. I guess it’s probably the street vendor’s touch, aka bare hands, that makes the difference.

:mrgreen:    :mrgreen:    :mrgreen:    :mrgreen:    :mrgreen:

Lunch at Taman Safari. You gotta have rice and krupuk with your food. I forgot what was under the krupuk.  Probably chicken or something.

This is Nasi Goreng or fried rice meal which for us is suitable for breakfast only. For them, they eat this anytime. It is a complete meal with fried rice, egg, meat and vegetables. I asked if this was THE java rice (you know, the one we know as the yellow rice served in food courts). They looked at me in a puzzled way.  “Java rice is java rice.  This is it.” Ah, ok…I looked it up though…what i was referring to is “nasi kuning” which is like risotto pala.

:mrgreen:    :mrgreen:    :mrgreen:    :mrgreen:    :mrgreen:

Indonesians eat a lot of chicken dishes since it is cheaper than beef and most of them are not allowed to eat pork.  So they know what they’re doing when it comes to chicken…

Grilled chicken or sate ayam (left): served with peanut sauce and calamansi…if you have kids and plan to travel here with your family, they’ll probably ask for this a lot.  Kids just like it.  But you will, too.

Their fried chicken (ayam goreng) was served complete with the head and all (below).  It’s all under those fried powdery batter, believe me. Can you locate the head? You’ll win a trip for two to Jakarta if you do. Joke lang!  It may taste dry to some finicky eaters but dipped in spicy sambal condiments… mmm…trust me, you’ll forget how to spell ‘dry’ …unless if you’re dyslexic, of course…

Sus…nagpapatawa na ako, ang corny naman. rolleyes sorry, baka gutom lang ako. Kasi naman… sino bang hindi gugutumin nito? I better go and grab something to eat… and that means…

To be continued na lang…

Next Post: Indo-xicating Eats (Part 2)

