I’m almost done reading the twilight books (whew!).  I wanted to see what the young people are reading these days now that the Harry Potter series have done its tour of duty.  They said that twilight was the next big thing. So fine…I took a look.

I’ll just try to make this short.  Young teenage girls adore the book, I think mainly because of the impossibly uber fantasy hAwT vampire guy (great, now i’m talking like a 14 year old–by the way, why do they have to complicate the spelling of ‘hot?’), Edward Cullen.  i respect their reasons for liking the book or its characters.  It’s pure fun… and should not be taken seriously because it is just one of those escapist fares, that fills the void in one’s dreary lives and adds fire to one’s boring daydreams.

I don’t blame them if they think it goes way up there with Pride and Prejudice because obviously I assume they haven’t read a lot of the English classics yet.  (Hopefully they will soon, and be able to see the ‘light’).  I was a teenager when i read P &P, and yes, I adored Darcy like he was the hottest male character anyone ever came up with.  But please lang, ano? there is no comparison.  Puede ba?

I know teens will get riled up if they see their beloved book series get dissed from time to time (my favorite and most intelligent anti-twilight arguments are posted here). I don’t blame them with the hormones and all.  I’ve seen how some act all ‘really mature’ about it–cursing and swearing at others who voice out their opinions contrary to their own.  Ironically, they remind me of the ‘newborns’–mindless vampire twits who do someone else’s bidding because they don’t know any better.  There is a proper way to voice out opinions–and not through intimidation and bullying. Show some respect and the world will respect you back.

(And OK, to be fair—to those who hate twilight, calm down as well, present your opinions with enough basis to support them-which I’m sure you have lots–and argue well (same goes for the fans). But do not put up picket signs to infuriate the fans when the movie comes out–you’re asking for a bloodbath–but you know, leave them be.  They have the right to escape, and enjoy, too. And try to finish reading the books before you criticize–I know it’s going to be extremely difficult but at least you can present your arguments better if you did read them).

I didn’t say i didn’t like it, i said it is good escapist fare but that’s just it.  I had fun but i also had fun reading Bridget Jones and didn’t take it seriously.  Bella and Bridget are both ordinary-looking, imperfect characters who goof up, flub and stumble but you’re wondering WHY the hell those hot guys are falling and fighting over them! My God… if that is not escapism, what is?  That is the ultimate wish of the hopelessly romantics… to be noticed by the hottest guy by looking ordinary and yet cutely klutzy–played out time and again in books and in movies.  And Meyer is just one of those writers who took advantage of that demographic who will eat up that line over and over, and they will never go away–generation after generation–you see ’em coming, always wanting more of the same–only repackaged in a different wrapper–in this case–gentlemen vampires and muscle-ripped werewolves.  Yes, very different indeedy.

Having said all that, I am grateful because Stephenie Meyer made young people read some more (in this age of psp’s and wiis–i’ll take what i can get).  I mean, it is better than not reading at all, right? She does have a way with words.  And I hope she will do better (as in no more of the usual, eye-rolling cliches, and repetitive, superficial descriptions of how impossibly gorgeous a character is) in her next project.

Congratulations to the avid teen fan who read these books for they ARE indeed very long (and unnecessarily so, having 20% of it makes up the meat of it–while 80% of it is just all fluffy fluff and looong long conversations about drawn out, ‘whiningly,’ repetitive topics like “how much i love you, bella, and no one smells like you, bella,” and “when can i be a vampire like you, edward, huh? when? when? when?”).  If there is one thing I like about Bella, she’s a reader–she would still read in good times and in bad times (I mean who wouldn’t be amazed by a character who often got chased by tons of deadly vampires who want to drink her blood and YET still had the chutzpah to take time to reflect and compare herself to Shakespeare’s Juliet and Catherine of “Wuthering Heights?”). I earnestly hope you will graduate from these books and move on to higher stuff.  Believe me, there are better stuff out there with better characters.  Just have the patience to go look and see.  Good luck and keep on reading!

Postscript:

With that I’m leaving you with a funny comics ‘in honor’ of twilight by the talented shinga of shinga.deviantart.com who got Edward’s look dead-on (pun not intended).  Chill and relax. It’s just a series:

