Not feeling great lately. Pushing myself to do stuff not because i want to (it’s because i have to). As a result, I’m a bit behind work and school.  Hope it’s just a phase though. Need to kick myself in the a**.  Kept reminding myself to do one step at a time, and that before you know it, it’s done.

Guess i’m having a slight case of mild burn-out. Mindtools says, according to their “burn-out online test,” i got a score of 45 and that I’m “at risk.”

The Science of Burn-Out:

Burn-out could be caused by different reasons: exhaustion (physical and emotional), diminished interest, or depersonalization/cynicism.  (Info source: wikipedia) I guess I’m just exhausted from meeting deadlines and the stress brought about by such.  I think my experience from undergoing my recently-concluded practicum is now taking its toll on me–physically and emotionally.  Before, it was “rah-rah-rah!” But now that it’s done, I’m like: “don’t care…leave me alone.”

(Based on my experience, I just like to add that burn-out can be accompanied with a sense of ‘purposelessness’… Times like these, I often ask myself, “What’s the point?” If there is none [and even if there is, you just don’t WANT to see it], it’s hard to wake up, face the day and go through all the usual routine.)

To recover, one suggestion that I’m keeping in mind is to use burnout as a trigger for personal growth:

This is probably one of the most positive ways that people manage burnout: By using it as a wakeup call to re-evaluate the way they want to live their lives and what they want to achieve.

The site suggests that in order to do this…you should:

  • “…understand why you are burning out.” Ok did that already. Next.
  • Move on and evaluate your goals…Self-Reflect. Right…
  • Then, redirect or change your direction to reach those new (or same) goals.” … Goals are seen as the exit if you’re stuck in a maze (or a rut) and can’t get out. It is like bringing back that sense of purpose that you lost along the way (which is basically to get out of the damned maze!) Ok, got it. Thanks.

I would like to add one tip though: And if you have accomplished your goals, give yourself a reward for a getting yourself out of the rut! (I’m smiling now as I’m thinking of MY reward)

That and chanting a personal mantra can help, too, I guess…   one step at a time… one step at a time… one step at a time…

