…or so it seems.

I’m telling you… The purchasing of a UP Centennial jacket is like getting a US Visa during the 80’s…

If you experienced what it was like getting a US visa (when you had to wait in line unlike now when you can set an appointment via phone call), you would know what I’m talking about…

After 2 months of waiting, I was able to get my UP Centennial jacket which was bought from UP Diliman.  I thought it would take up to UP Biennial before I would be able to get one.  The supply couldn’t keep up with the demand. You had to reserve for one (but then, they say it still wouldn’t be a 100% guarantee that you’ll get one–what the heck??–why reserve then?), and you’ve got to give your UP student number to prove that you’re an alumni and so that you’ll be given priority.  A friend of a friend bought the jackets for us because we’re too busy to do it ourselves.  She waited in line for it (bless her soul!) — a line which they said would stretch from “the CAS parking lot to the CAL” at times.

When I finally received it (bago naman magBiennial–hay salamat!), I wore it immediately and of course, proudly:

stuff-072

The black jacket with hood costs 800 pesos (the other jackets with different colors cost 700 pesos).  It has a “UP 1908-2008” printed in gold on the front. The number ‘100’ for UP’s 100 years is also printed at the end of the right sleeve.

stuff-218

The UP oblation draped with the Sablay and the name of the University is printed at the back…

stuff-079

…while the UP logo is printed on the left side of the hood. Kung di ka pa makilalang taga-UP niyan, ewan ko na…

A Word of Warning: Better to carefully hand wash your UP jacket than use your washing machine or else the precious printed designs on it (since these are the only parts that make it valuable) will be stripped off (according to a stuff-083friend whose boyfriend’s jacket became an unfortunate guinea pig)…

The UP  Centennial celebrations will officially end on Dec. 31. I may not have participated in the activities, I was still able to give my support through purchasing the jacket and t-shirts (at right).  I have also come up with tribute article on it for my public art blog, featuring flickr pix of the different Oblations across the Philippines.

Maligayang Pagdiriwang at Pagtatapos ng Isang Daang Taon, sa lahat ng mga kapwa kong Isko at Iska!

