The year has come to an end and I’m hoping for a more fruitful year ahead.  2008 may have its good times but there are things that have happened that we would rather forget.  Many of us (which I find highly unusual) lost someone we know during this year mostly succumbing to illnesses and other health impairments.  I pray that things would be better somehow and all our loved ones will be safe in this Year of the Ox.

Just like the rest of the holidays, it also rained (slightly) on New Year’s eve (this is also the first rainy new year’s day in my experience).    And, for the first time too, I decided to try out several feng shui tips to bring in good luck.  I usually do not believe in feng shui but I know it won’t hurt if you put up a bagwan (a fortune mirror charm), a severed rabbit’s tail or something else on top of your front door.  Whatever rocks your boat, it’s fine with me as long as you’re not hurting anybody…

So this year, I experimented (and also just for the heck of it) to see if New Year feng shui tips really work (to see the results…well, I have to report about it at the end of 2009, I guess).  I tried out several feng shui advices that they say could bring in good luck while ushering in the new year like not sweeping the floor on New Year’s Eve (or you’ll bring out the good chi, um, I think); opening the windows to bring in luck; buying round-shaped fruits because they’re supposed to bring in money and harmony (?); putting money bills in an ang pao (lucky red packets) and placing it under your pillow, etc.  I maybe game with all these but I draw the line when it comes to lighting up firecrackers (deathly afraid of them) and wearing polka-dots (…just…can’t..do…it).

Here are some pictures taken at home during the Eve:

stuff-227

A feng shui expert who was interviewed on TV said that one should have 12 to 13 kinds…repeat, KINDS, not pieces, of round shaped fruits since 12 and 13 are considered lucky.  Was she serious or was it just bad grammar? Of all the feng shui tips, I find this to be the most idiotic.  Where can we possibly find 12 or 13 kinds of round fruits when December is definitely not the season for fruits?  But I went out and bought them anyway–ended up with eight kinds of fruits (8 is also a lucky number, right?).  Yes, I’m a sucker sometimes.  But hey, it’s for research, right?

stuff-233

Filling in a bowl of rice with 88 pieces of coins (and other lucky charms).  This advice includes cooking the rice after three days.  I had to break my piggy bank for this… Just kidding.

stuff-229

Serving sticky rice cake, biko (to improve family ties).  A combination of bread, wine and cheese were also served which is an Italian feng shui tip to bring in prosperity and good taste.  Of course, I’m kidding! If you fell for that last one, you’re a bigger sucker than I am.  They just happened to be in the picture, that’s all.

stuff-231

Here’s to a better and sparkling year ahead for all of us!  Grumba and I wish that 2009 will truly be a Year of the Oks na Oks! Cheers!

